Preparing Students to Become Lifelong Learners

I recently fell in love with the book Rosie Revere, Engineer by Andrea Beaty. The story of Rosie is so inspiring and uplifting, it delivers a strong message; if at first you don’t succeed, try again.

I’m proud to admit, I’ve been no stranger to failure. Some of my biggest lessons learned have come from failed attempts. Whether it be trying a new recipe, teaching a complex lesson, or putting together a bookcase from Ikea! These all things which I have failed! However, they are also things which I have succeeded at. I have been blessed enough to know from an early age that if I don’t succeed on my first attempt, I have to try again.

In the book, it took Rosie a while before she learned this valuable lesson. She even missed out on creating something amazing. I thought of the students in my classroom and wondered how can I teach them to become resilient to failure? Is it through perseverance? If it is, how do you teach perseverance?

At the end of the day I want all of my students to become successful, but I also want them to see failure as the first steps to success. I hope I will find the answers to these questions because resilience and perseverance are important skills in order to be lifelong learners.

4 thoughts on “Preparing Students to Become Lifelong Learners

  1. How awesome that you include these greater character values of resilience and perseverance wahen thinking about your students, how your deeper intentions to see them achieve as fabulous human beings is evident!! I would bet that you exemplify these qualities for your students every day and offer them a great example of what it means to be a lifelong learner and how crucial that is to their well being. Maybe having a conversation about what failure means or how failures can lead to great successes? No matter how it plays out, your students are very lucky to have a teacher that cares about them so much 🙂

    Like

    • Logan,
      Thank you for the compliment. I have been having conversations with students this week and I see their confidence levels rise! I plan to continue the conversation with my students and remind them how failures, or setbacks, can lead to achievements.

      Like

  2. This is such an important lesson to learn– and a real skill around internal dialogue students need to develop. If you google Growth Mindset– there are a lot of great classroom resources that help kids think about their brain as a muscle that grows and develops in response to how they use it. It’s super helpful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

